Samuel Torres Group: Forced Displacement

    Live Music
    Friday September 20, 2013 @ 7:00 PM

    $18.00 in advance / $20.00 day of
    Member Price: $16.20

    Buy Tickets

    Colombian percussionist and composer Samuel Torres, called “at once intelligent, sophisticated, and explosive” by Jazz Times, premieres Forced Displacement, which explores his country’s indigenous and Afro-Colombian musical roots and gives voice to the dynamic musical range of the conga drums supported by a Latin jazz ensemble.  Thru the rhythmic, melodic, coloristic and harmonic developments of traditional Colombian music, Forced Displacement also explores the different factors of human displacement due to the armed-conflict in Colombia.

    Related Videos

    The spark of compassion:

    The Colombian roots of Forced Displacement:

    The Samuel Torres Group is:

    Michael Rodriguez, Trumpet
    Joel Frahm, Saxophone
    Marshall Gilkes, Trombone
    Luis Perdomo, Piano
    John Benitez, Acoustic Bass
    Obed Calvaire, Drums
    Jonathan Gomez, Colombian Percussion
    Samuel Torres, Congas and Percussion


    Additional Support

    The Rubin Museum’s presentation of the Samuel Torres Group is supported by Presenting Jazz, a program of Chamber Music America funded through the generosity of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. 

    "Forced Displacement" by Samuel Torres and the Samuel Torres Group has been made possible with support from Chamber Music America 2012 New Jazz Works: Commissioning and Ensemble Development program funded through the generosity of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation.

    Musical performances at the Rubin Museum are made possible by the Carlo and Micól Schejola Foundation. Additional support of Harlem in the Himalayas is provided by Chamber Music America through the generosity of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation and with funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.