APA's Jazz Fellowship Awards Concert

    Live Music
    Wednesday May 21, 2014 @ 7:00 PM

    Price: $15.00
    Member Price: $13.50

    Buy Tickets

    Presented with the American Pianists Association and WBGO

    The five finalists for the American Pianists Association’s Jazz Fellowship Award perform, including improvisations based on art exhibited at the Rubin Museum. With Zach Lapidus, Sullivan Fortner, Kris Bowers, Emmet Cohen, and Christian Sands.

    The American Pianists Association’s Jazz Fellowship Awards presented by REI Real Estate Services is the largest jazz piano competition in the world. The winner, who will be named the Cole Porter Fellow in Jazz on March 28, 2015, will receive a prize worth over $100,000 including a cash prize of $50,000 and career assistance that will include approximately forty performance opportunities, a contract on the Mack Avenue record label, and public relations representation by a leading jazz PR firm. Five Finalists have selected from a national pool of applicants. The Finalists must be American citizens between the ages eighteen and thirty. They will participate in a season-long competition for the Fellowship consisting of seven different concerts. The Finals next March will feature Dee Dee Bridgewater and be hosted by three-time Grammy Award-winning jazz bassist Christian McBride. The Finals will be judged by pianists Amina Figarova, Bill Charlap and Edward Simon, as well as Mack Avenue Records Executive VP of A&R Al Pryor and journalist Don Heckman. Aaron Diehl was named the American Pianists Association’s most recent Cole Porter Fellow in Jazz in 2011. Excerpts from the 2011 competition were heard by millions of listeners domestically and abroad on JazzSet with Dee Dee Bridgewater (NPR) and Voice of America.

    Photo by Luigi Maffettone.